Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
FarhanQureshi
New Contributor

OSPF intra area filtering

Hi

I have 3 interfaces on single Fortigate firewall.

1 x LAN1 - running OSPF

1 x LAN2 - running OSPF

1 x WAN - running BGP

OSPF's interfaces are in area 0.0.0.0.

BGP routes will be redistributed into OSPF which is straight forward.

I'm just in dilemma on how to stop ospf routes getting advertised from LAN1 to LAN2 interfaces and vice versa.

One way is to put the LAN1 and LAN2 interfaces into different VRF's but then BGP which will be in global will not be permitted to redistribute routes into each VRF (as I read, VRF's are isolated). We are running 6.0.7 and as I can see, route leakage can only work in 6.4.

Any work around or comments are welcome.

2 REPLIES 2
lobstercreed
Valued Contributor

I'm not very experienced in OSPF, but this reminded me a little bit of something I ran into with my ISP. I'm somewhat confused though because I would've assumed you want them advertising to each other since they're in area 0? 

Anyway I think maybe putting the LANs in different areas would allow you to do the filtering you want to do.  I have WAN with BGP and OSPF (annoying, long story involving multi-hop BGP and an ISP with poor network design imo) and then a LAN interface with OSPF.  LAN is in area 0 talking to my core router, WAN is in area 0.0.8.95.  They only want my public subnet, and I want none of their subnets (I get what I need from BGP).  I used the following:

config router ospf
    set router-id x.x.x.x
    set distribute-route-map-in "DropISPxxOSPF_Routemap" <-- Filtered OSPF routes from ISP
    config area
        edit 0.0.8.95
            config filter-list
                edit 2