Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
WDCB
New Contributor

Bring up tunnel with monitor

Hi all - newbie here

I have an IPSEC tunnel running to Azure. Every so often this will drop and then I can only via CLI ike reset bring the tunnel up again. I have the Keep Alive setting up, but it does not resolve the issue. Note the WAN interface connected to the ISP does not miss a beat and the one other VPN has not dropped since it was installed. 

What I am looking for is a way to execute the cli commands if the VPN interface drop. I am not doing failover since nothing else drops. I just need to find a way to bring the ipsec vpn interface up again ? Any guidelines or links to KB's will be appreciated. Perhaps this can be done in Fortimanager ?

Thanks in advance

2 REPLIES 2
m0j0
New Contributor III

I do something similar using a bash script and an expect script.  The bash script performs an SNMP query to check the state of the tunnel interface.  If not up, it calls the expect script which logs into the Fortigate and executes a series of cli commands.

Run the script via a cronjob every 5 minutes or however frequently you want - I only run it every 5 minutes to give the tunnel a chance to establish before I'm running the script again and checking the tunnel state.

Mark

m0j0
New Contributor III

Here's my shell script.  I've sanitized it a little to remove email addresses.  Your oid is likely to be different so you'll have to work that out.  I've used a variable in my oid so I can easily change it to run this against a different tunnel interface if I want.  I've also got a system to check if the tunnel has just transitioned state (up or down) and if so, so a relevant email (and pushover notification via email) just so I'm aware something's happened and I have a track record of how frequently it's happening.  Yes, I could log it, but I'd get lazy and stop checking logs.