Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
jrpayne
New Contributor

Reverse Proxy Question

First of all let me say that I am not a reverse proxy expert but I am trying to secure our network. Right now I use the VIP option for server sitting in the DMZ. However, if possible I would like to move to a reverse proxy option and get rid of all vip group. I don't have any idea whether or not this is even feasible. Does anyone send their external request to a reverse proxy before send them inbound to the actual device. Any response will be greatly appreciated.

7 REPLIES 7
CBaezLe
New Contributor III

Are you trying to RP with a Fortigate?  As far as I know, FortiWeb is the solution that you're looking for. See datasheet HERE

Cheers.

jrpayne

Yes I knew that they had that product however, from what I understand the Fortigate itself is supposed to do reverse proxying as well. I was just trying to find someone that may have used it for that purpose before and how they did it.  I really dont like having to open all the holes in the firewall so the outside IP is speaking directly to the machine inside or in the DMZ.

CBaezLe
New Contributor III

jrpayne wrote:

Yes I knew that they had that product however, from what I understand the Fortigate itself is supposed to do reverse proxying as well. I was just trying to find someone that may have used it for that purpose before and how they did it.  I really dont like having to open all the holes in the firewall so the outside IP is speaking directly to the machine inside or in the DMZ.

Oh, ok! So, did you find a way to RP with the Fortigate? I could really use the info.

Thanks!

Markus
Valued Contributor

Hi We do "RP" with Fortigate within the loadbalance function.