Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
lyontech
New Contributor

How to: Create Inbound and Outbound one-to-one Static NAT rules in FortiGate

I'm new to the FortiGate routers (I've always been a Cisco guy), and had a hard time figuring out how to properly configure inbound and outbound static one-to-one NAT rules in the router.  After doing a fair amount of searching in the FortiGate documentation and Googling, I found the information available online about this topic was either incomplete or out of date.  So I thought I’d pass this along in case it is helpful to anyone who finds this tread in the future.  I successfully did the below steps today on a FortiGate 60D running Firmware 5.2.7 build 718, but I’m pretty sure it will work the same on other similar models too.   How to create an INBOUND static NAT rule:

[ol]
  • Navigate to:  Policy & Objects > Objects > Virtual IPs[ol]
  • Click the “Create New” button
  • Name = Anything you want, something descriptive.  Remember this, you need it in Step #3.
  • Comments = Optional. Anything you want.
  • Interface = Select the correct external WAN interface that the public IP is connected to
  • Source Address Filter = Defaults to unchecked, which is fine.
  • External IP Address/Range = Just enter one *public* IP address.  Put the same IP address in both fields (this means you’re only defining ONE IP address, instead of a RANGE or block of IPs)
  • Mapped IP Address/Range = Just enter one *private* IP address.  Put the same IP address in both fields (this means you’re only defining ONE IP address, instead of a RANGE or block of IPs)
  • Port Forwarding = Optional.[ol]
  • If you want to just have a 1-to-1 inbound static NAT map, leave this unchecked.  Restrict and control access through IPv4 firewall policies.
  • If you want to control or redirect specific ports, check this and then add custom rules as necessary.[/ol][/ol][/ol]