Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
btozer
New Contributor

IP Address Lookup

Hi, I'm new to working with Fortigate and hoping someone can help me with a trouble-shooting a blocked IP address.  I'm told by our alarm monitoring company that an outbound IP (v4) address is blocked at a particular site.  They have a primary and secondary IP address.  They can ping the secondary, but not the primary.  From another site, I can successfully ping both addresses from my desktop.  What's the best way to test the IP address and determine what policy is blocking it, then make the necessary changes.

Thank You

Bill

9 REPLIES 9
akumar02
Staff
Staff

Hello @btozer ,

YOu can run the following debugs on Fortigate and initiate the Ping for that IP. It will show you which Policy is blocking. 

diag debug dis
diag debug flow trace stop
diag debug flow filter clear
diag debug reset
di de console timestamp en
diag debug flow filter addr x.x.x.x <------------ source or destination IP address 
diag debug flow filter proto 1
diag debug flow show iprope enable
diag debug flow show function-name enable
diag debug flow trace start 90
diag debug enable

Best Regards,
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
Arun Kumar | TAC Engineer II
FORTINET TAC - America EAST
NSE Certified: 1,2,3,4,5,7
Office Hours: 9AM-6PM EST (Tue-Sat)
Contact: https://fortinet.com/support-and-training/support/contact.html
Community Forum: https://community.fortinet.com
# Is there anything Fortinet could have assisted with further, better, or differently?
# Simply request a Manager follow-up
akumar02
Staff
Staff

Also, this Article will be helpful:
https://community.fortinet.com/t5/FortiGate/Troubleshooting-Tip-First-steps-to-troubleshoot-connecti...

Best Regards,
. . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . . .
Arun Kumar | TAC Engineer II
FORTINET TAC - America EAST
NSE Certified: 1,2,3,4,5,7
Office Hours: 9AM-6PM EST (Tue-Sat)