Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
NeoRant
New Contributor III

FORTIMAIL Gateway mode - Not seeing email traffic in FortiMail VM

Good day,

I am new to Fortinet, I am use to the Cisco product line and wish to expand my knowledge further, using Fortinet products way forward.

Mode chosen: Gateway mode

Deployment type: Forti mail in the DMZ or Behind the FortiGate

Could someone kindly assist me step by step(probably u did for your environment/similar if possible) how to carefully deploy a Forti mail VM to manage and monitor my email traffic in Gateway mode. I have read via the 7.4.1 admin guide, other admin guides, watched a few YouTube videos and NO real guidance, step by step solution, not even a workable template based setup for Forti mail, just a bunch of webinars, chatting and simple setups(telling/referring you to go read this entire document(admin guide), no real lab scenarios at all. I have configured/setup and deployed many devices, network solutions in infrastructure environments/datacenters, some all by myself, others with help of comrades, video guides and straightforward - coherent reading material. But I am stuck here and need your guidance

Network Environment Details but not limited to below(If you need more information, such as a simple network diagram of the intended setup, let me know):

1. One(1) email/exchange server  behind the firewall/internal LAN e.g. 192.168.5.6

2. One(1) HW FortiGate Firewall  (with both WAN, LAN, DMZ interface etc. setup)

3. 1 Private DNS server/PDC behind the firewall/on internal LAN e.g. 192.168.5.2

4. One(1) mail relay server(VM) running Postfix in the DMZ in front of FortiGate e.g. on diff subnet 192.168.70.3

5. A public/WAN IP address already mapped to the email relay VM internal IP

6. Firewall Policies for SMTP traffic to flow between email server, mail relay and internet(incoming-outgoing)