Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
HeraldGoSison
New Contributor II

Category Blocking in Firewall Policy

Hi Experts,

i am very new to Fortinet so i am abit confused on how web filter via category blocking worked in firewall policy.

I want to block facebook to all users/devices but i want to have some exemptions to certain users/devices.

Would these method below will work?

1) Allow the exempted users to facebook

2) block all users to facebook

3 any any any allow

i am used to configure cisco FTD FMC and thede method worked i am not sure in Fortinet because in Fortinet once you select a category all categories will be included unlike in cisco that only the categories you want to allow or block will be included in the rules you are creating.

one more thing if i will upgrade the firmware would it require a reboot? Can i revert back to old firmware incase i am not happy with the newly installed firmware?

Thank you and morr power to all!

12 REPLIES 12
payas60
New Contributor

Create/Clone a URL Filtering Profile that will allow and log (alert) all safe categories, then uncheck the “log container page only” option on the URL Filtering Profile. Apply this URL Filtering Profile to your catch all policy. If you still don’t see what you are hoping for, then possibly your previous policy is silently blocking the URLs you are in search of. In that case, swap the policies briefly to gain visibility.

https://xender.vip/
HeraldGoSison

Hi Sir,

this is my current firewall policy created and i noticed that the policy 1 - 3 does not have any hit counts so i assume the policy was bypassed or not being used.

Screenshot 2023-12-08 210945.jpg

and regarding the "log container page only" i cannot see any option on that one.

Screenshot 2023-12-08 211305.jpg

hbac
Staff
Staff

Hi @HeraldGoSison,

You will need two separate firewall policy and web filter profile.