Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
Ihor
New Contributor

Basic connectivity issue

Hello everybody,

I am new to Fortinet (today is the first day when I try to use it) and i encountered the problem with the basic connectivity.

I use FortiGate-3600C v5.0

I have applied the next config in the CLI:

config system interface     edit port1         set ip 1.1.1.1/24     next     edit port2         set ip 2.2.2.1/24     next end config firewall policy     edit 1         set srcintf "any"         set dstintf "any"         set srcaddr "all"         set dstaddr "all"         set action accept         set schedule "always"         set service "ALL"     next end

In the Web interface I saw that packet-capture intercepts the incoming traffic from both ports, but no departing traffic.

In the Policy Tab I saw that counters are not running. So Policy sequence didn't take part...

So I mean that I simply have no connectivity through the device. 

After googling a long time and trying different combinations, including disabling RPF, but that didn't help.

Could anybody point me where my mistake is?

Thanks ahead!

2 REPLIES 2
tclark
New Contributor

Make sure you have a default route. If it does not have a default route, it will send an ICMP No Route To Host msg. That will not reach the policy since the packet does not get forwarded due to no route.

You might also want to enable NAT in your policy if you are trying to use PAT for internal to WAN traffic.

ede_pfau

First, you should clarify if you tested port1 to port2, or portX to WAN.

For port to port, the FGT already has created the necessary routes (check this in Routing > Monitor).

Second, NEVER, EVER, use the "any" interface if you aren't forced to! I know it's valid but it's a nightmare for debugging. In your case, there is no justification to use it so just don't.