Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
wm999
New Contributor

Please help: 1) use DHCP of ISP; 2) give public IP + hostname in DNS; 3) VPN tunnel setup

Hello all,

Apologies if these are dumb questions. I am reasonably computer savvy but a complete novice at networking. I am about to be overseas for an extended period, and need my U.S. home network to be accessible as a remote home office during that time.

My home in the U.S. is in a rural area and the ISP uses DHCP for the handoff (it's a radio tower based internet service provider, and a static IP is not normally available or will be unreasonably expensive to maintain).

I want to simply set up an SSL VPN tunnel to my home network using the Fortigate 30E that I just bought.

My understanding is that I should follow these steps:

1) I need to connect the Fortigate to the ISP's DHCP server (since I don't have a static IP address). But I don't know how to obtain the address of the ISP's DHCP server that that needs to be inputted into the Fortigate during the setup process.

2) I want to configure the Fortigate so that it can use Let's Encrypt as a Certificate Authority (https://docs.fortinet.com/document/fortigate/7.0.0/new-features/822087/acme-certificate-support). But I don't know how to meet this condition: "The FortiGate must have a public IP address and a hostname in DNS (FQDN) that resolves to the public IP address." (And it's not clear to me if this condition can be fulfilled when the Fortigate is set up using DHCP.)

3) I want to configure the Fortigate as an SSL VPN tunnel using the Let's Encrypt SSL certificate created in the previous step (https://docs.fortinet.com/document/fortigate/6.0.0/cookbook/690301/configuring-the-ssl-vpn-tunnel).