Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
boma23
New Contributor

Configure DHCP Options for VLANs which are members of a ZONE via GUI?

Hi All,

May sound stupid, but I'm still new with Forti.  I've got a FW I built over a year ago, and need to go back and alter DHCP addressing options for some of the VLANs which are members of a ZONE.   I cant seem to be able to do this anywhere in the GUI, whilst I can for network interfaces which aren't members of zones. 

Is this normal, or am I missing an options screen anywhere?  Is this a CLI only config?

7 REPLIES 7
lobstercreed
Valued Contributor

Whether it's a member of a zone or not should have no bearing on the options available for DHCP.  The VLAN interface should still appear as a subinterface of the physical interface it is tagged on.

boma23

I can see the VLANs listed as sub interfaces - but nowhere do I get the options to admin DHCP for them? I can't see anything under interfaces or objects either, and don't see VLANs listed anywhere else.

lobstercreed
Valued Contributor

Not sure what FortiOS you're on -- might be relevant but I've had no trouble with this in recent memory (6.0 and up).  Here's the admin guide for 6.4 (what I run)

https://docs.fortinet.com/document/fortigate/6.4.0/administration-guide/783526/dhcp-server 

You say you can see the VLANs listed as subinterfaces -- what does the screen look like when you edit the subinterface?  Should be exactly the same as any physical interface -- do you see the DHCP options under a physical interface?

boma23