Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
mdnoor
New Contributor

Add ISP to WAN2 (FortiGate 60E)

Hi all,

im new in fortigate currently we use fortigate 60e and inside already config use wan1 from ISP setup by previous people, now the company just purchase new ISP from different ISP which is i need to add at WAN2 but after i follow the cookbook config i unable to connect the internet for wan2. can some one help me how can i config wan2?

in picture i already remove back the config

reference basic config:

https://docs.fortinet.com...ecting-network-devices

11 REPLIES 11
Markus
Valued Contributor

Hi, and welcome to the forums You have to configure Wan2 accordingly to your new ISP settings (IP, Subnet) and you have to change the default route to the new (ISP) gateway. But be carefull, this will break your wan1 internet access and any policy that is going to wan1. What is the plan, to use both ISPs in the future? If so, maybe SD-WAN https://docs.fortinet.com/document/fortigate/6.2.0/cookbook/19246/sd-wan is an option for you. Anyhow, you have to change the config and policies anyway. For testing wan2 after you have setting up correctly, you can configure a route to a specific URi or host, let's say google.ch, make a policy and check if you can reach. For smooth migration, you can copy paste all the policies going to wan1 and change them to wan2 (having all then twice -> internal -> wan1 | internal -> wan2). Then you change the default route. If anything is working fine over wan2, you can delete the wan1 policies. Otherwise you change back the default route and you are fast back with internet access. You can also save a config backup and change all wan1 policies to wan2 with a text editor and upload the config. But this is not the best way if your box is in production. It will reboot the box and if there is some mistake, you probaly will break the access and/or your inet access.