Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
JOATMON
New Contributor

Issue with static IP on WAN (no internet)

We have a cable modem from Spectrum for our backup internet. It is DHCP. I was able to get it working in LAN2 without issue.

Today we got our primary fiber line installed.  They gave me a static IP.  I cannot get it to work.  I can plug my laptop in directly and set the IP and it works fine. But I've tried a few things on the Fortigate 200D and cannot get a connection on a client.  

I am not a networking expert, but I thought it might be the "gateway" (the only difference between my laptop static and the WAN interface config). I found this thread and tried creating a static route to 0.0.0.0/0 but it did not help.

My laptop is pulling a DHCP address from the VLAN switch, so I know it's at least getting that far.  

Here are the relevant configs.  Please let me know if there is anything else I can provide that helps.

Physical Interface

Addressing Mode: Manual

IP/Net mask: 4.x.x.x/255.255.255.252

Interface State: Enabled

IPv4 Policy (literally cloned from the working policy and changed the "To" and "From".

To: Lumen (wan1)

Source: all

Destination: all

Schedule: always

Service: all

4 REPLIES 4
Toshi_Esumi
Esteemed Contributor III

How did you decide to make the Spectrum cable as backup? Set a lower distance on the interface than the primary? Or put both in SD-WAN and set the implicit rule to make the primary's weight higher?

Likely that strategy is not working as you intended. Check your routing-table to see where the current default route is pointing to.

I would just disconnect the backup circuit while bringing up the primary.

emnoc
Esteemed Contributor III

I can plug my laptop in directly and set the IP and it works fine