Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
RLED
New Contributor

Questions - FG30E and FG50E logging/DMZ + HR4860W OEM FG-61E FortiOS compatibility

Hello Fortinet Comunity, I'm new with Fortinet products, and I'm looking a FW Fortinet (with VPN site-site and DMZ capabilities) as starting point for learn implementing and administering platforms like Fortigate 2000E (v6.2.3 build 1066), and searching into datasheets and FortiOS 6.2.3 supported platforms, I have the following questions:

1) Regarding lack of local logging and reporting capabilities of FG30E and FG50E, this can be solved with any Syslog server where logs and info reporting can be exported, right?.

2) Can FG30E and FG50E support VPN site-site and DMZ (even if they haven't a dedicated DMZ interface like FG-61E)?

3) I find a HR4860W that is an OEM FG-61E, those OEM devices can support FortiOS 6.2.3 or be upgraded with any FortiOS version for FG-61E (as any other FG-61E)?.

Regards.

12 REPLIES 12
boneyard
Valued Contributor

RLED wrote:

1) Regarding lack of local logging and reporting capabilities of FG30E and FG50E, this can be solved with any Syslog server where logs and info reporting can be exported, right?.

yes, they can send their logging to a syslog server or FortiAnalyzer

RLED wrote:

2) Can FG30E and FG50E support VPN site-site and DMZ (even if they haven't a dedicated DMZ interface like FG-61E)?

yes, the labels on ports are usually just that, labels. exception is management port which should not be used for actual traffic.

RLED wrote:

3) I find a HR4860W that is a OEM FG-61E, those OEM devices can support FortiOS 6.2.3 or be upgraded with any FortiOS version for FG-61E (as any other FG-61E)?.

no personal experience but this reddit thread says yes: https://www.reddit.com/r/...ortigate_60d_question/

Toshi_Esumi
Esteemed Contributor III

For 1), or FortiCloud. With some limitations (last 7 days), it's free.

RLED