Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
ss85
New Contributor

Failure to change opmode from NAT mode to Transparent mode

Hi All, 

First of all, I'm new to Fortigate. Next is my issue.

I wanted to set my opmode from NAT to transparent. However, i receive command fail message from the CLI. I have no idea what this message means. Did i missed out any steps before i can change the mode? What are the causes or factors which cause the failure. Need advices from any gurus.

Below is my CLI command for your reference. 

FIREWALL-1 # config vdom FIREWALL-1 (vdom) # edit root current vf=root:0

FIREWALL-1 (root) # config system settings FIREWALL-1 (settings) # FIREWALL-1 (settings) # FIREWALL-1 (settings) # set opmode transparent FIREWALL-1 (settings) # end node_check_object fail! for opmode transparent Attribute 'opmode' value 'transparent' checking fail -651 Command fail. Return code -651

By the way, im using Fortinet FG_101E with FortiOS v6.2.3. Hope this helps and awaiting for prompt reply.

Thank you very much.

10 REPLIES 10
Fullmoon
Contributor III

seems you forgot to define management ip and gateway as what stated in this link.

https://docs.fortinet.com/document/fortigate/5.4.0/cookbook/463938

Fortigate Newbie

Fortigate Newbie
boneyard
Valued Contributor

you do not already have a full configuration on this device?

ss85
New Contributor

To Fullmoon, I have already created a management ip and gateway using GUI, in VDOM.

To boneyard, sorry but what do you mean by full configuration?