Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
PFU
New Contributor

How to know if an email traffic reach my FortiGate or not at all?

Hi experts, I am totally new to Fortigate, would like to ask a question here. My customer's company use application to send out PO(Purchase Order) to my colleagues' email addresses, but the colleague didn't receive that email sent by the Customer PO application(po_nmc@customer-domain) on 12 Aug. After that the customer use his email account user1@@customer-domain sent on 20 Aug and successfully reached my colleague's inbox(colleague1@my-company).

I checked the report and log > anti-spam, did not find any blocking record for the Customer PO application address(po_nmc@customer-domain), so i am wondering did this email(12 Aug) reach my Fortigate? it's not been blocked as a spam, I check the exchange server behind the firewall, there's no such mail record from that sender. 

how can i tell what happened to the email(sent on 12 Aug from customer to my colleague)?

any help will be greatly appreciated.

5 REPLIES 5
Dave_Hall
Honored Contributor

You may have better luck looking at the mail headers of the sender email - that PO app (or mail server) should be tracking the mail delivery path to let you know if it has successfully reached the destination (mail server/mail box).  If this PO app is deemed business critical, I can't imagine it not having some sort of email delivery or return receipt feature build into it.

NSE4/FMG-VM64/FortiAnalyzer-VM/6.0 (FWF30E/FW92D/FGT200D/FGT101E/FGT81E)/ FAP220B/221C

NSE4/FMG-VM64/FortiAnalyzer-VM/6.0 (FWF30E/FW92D/FGT200D/FGT101E/FGT81E)/ FAP220B/221C
PFU
New Contributor

Hi Dave, SW2090 and Yurisk,