Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
0skarprez
New Contributor

block internet access in domain Controller

Hi all, 

I hope you can help me, I am kind of new with Fortigate and networks, I was asked to disable internet access in our Domain Controller, so I thought "that is easy", so I configured a Rule to block  internal interface - DC IP address to reach wan1 (internet). and it worked, but the thing now is that all domain computers are not able to access internet neither, any suggestion?

best regards

1 Solution
ede_pfau
Esteemed Contributor III

Yes, absolutely. Most of the installations I know use either PPPoE or DHCP to connect to the ISP, so they are assigned a "well known" DNS which they can trust. If you do too, make sure that in the wan interface setup you enable "Override system DNS" to assign the DNS dynamically.

In many networks I block DNS from the LAN to WAN, as clients should use the FGT (resp. the DC and the DC uses the FGT as last resort). Misconfigured clients will report quickly to the admin...

Quad8 DNS is reported to be collecting a lot of information. If you want to use a public DNS, use quad9 (9.9.9.9 or 9.9.9.10) instead.

Ede

"Kernel panic: Aiee, killing interrupt handler!"

View solution in original post

Ede"Kernel panic: Aiee, killing interrupt handler!"
5 REPLIES 5
ede_pfau
Esteemed Contributor III

I bet you have "a.b.c.0/24" as source address in the DENY policy. That will be effective for the whole LAN.

For a single host, use "a.b.c.d/32".

If that doesn't solve it, please post your policy here for review.

And of course "it's easy" :)

Ede

lobstercreed

I would guess that the LAN clients didn't truly lose internet but lost DNS because your domain controller is the DNS server for your LAN clients and your block prevents it from doing recursive lookups to whatever DNS servers it is designed to talk to.