Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
Eugene_Belyayev
New Contributor

Set up vpn interface behind NAT

Hello there. I'm trying to set up a VPN tunnel with the interface behind NAT. Our main connection uses PPoE interface which is basically directly connected to FortiGate, it works fine. The backup connection though is behind ADSL modem, so it uses a private IP as a source, I made a port forwarding for 500 and 4500 from ADSL modem, but it's still down. I'd really appreciate any help, since i'm not a network engineer and i'm kinda new to the fortignet. Here are the diag commands:

diag vpn ike gateway

vd: root/0 name: BACKUP_Connection_btk version: 1 interface: wan1 5 addr: 192.168.100.2:500 -> 3*.**.***.***:500 created: 20s ago IKE SA: created 1/1 IPsec SA: created 0/0 id/spi: 22767 796fed2d927050f4/0000000000000000 direction: initiator status: connecting, state 3, started 20s ago

diag vpn tunnel list

name=BACKUP_Connection_btk ver=1 serial=5 192.168.100.2:0->3*.**.***.*** dst_mtu=0 bound_if=5 lgwy=static/1 tun=intf/0 mode=auto/1 encap=none/536 options[0218]=npu create_dev frag-rfc accept_traffic=0 proxyid_num=1 child_num=0 refcnt=9 ilast=23 olast=23 ad=/0 stat: rxp=0 txp=0 rxb=0 txb=0 dpd: mode=on-demand on=0 idle=20000ms retry=3 count=0 seqno=0 natt: mode=none draft=0 interval=0 remote_port=0 proxyid=MSQtoCER350_btk proto=0 sa=0 ref=1 serial=3 src: 0:10.100.0.0/255.255.0.0:0 dst: 0:10.31.0.0/255.255.0.0:0 0:10.0.19.0/255.255.255.0:0 0:10.1.19.0/255.255.255.0:0 0:10.198.0.0/255.255.0.0:0 0:10.55.1.0/255.255.255.0:0 0:10.31.18.0/255.255.255.0:0

Thank you! Eugene Belyayev IT Administration

Thank you! Eugene Belyayev IT Administration
13 REPLIES 13
Toshi_Esumi
Esteemed Contributor III

Looks like one way. You need to run IKE debugging in the KB.

https://kb.fortinet.com/kb/documentLink.do?externalID=FD46611

That would tell if it's receiving something, or nothing.

sw2090