Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
it_pro
New Contributor

penetration testing + fortigate

hello everybody : i'm a student in the third year of a bachelor degree called : professional engineering degree in security ,network ,system .

i have a task to do with 2 classmates related to fortigate and pen.testing that we didn't study ,but later in june we will study the subject of pen.testing .

my question is , how can make an architecture ( PCs , routers , switches , firewalls , etc ) related to each others , then after a in-depth analysis of the architecture + pen.testing , use fortigate to secure the plateform (firewalls , vpn ,antivirus ) and also give the pros and cons that allow me to use fortigate rather than other firewalls , somebody can give me details to make such a good project , and also  give me good advises to  mix pen.testing and fortigate ?

N.B : Subject that i studied previously in this third year : CCNP (Routing,Switching) , Administation of windows server, Redhat (terminal commands , securing the plateform, administation) ,microsoft SQL Server , Vmware virtualization and cloud computing ,Comptia security + , ITIL , ISO 27001, ISO 27002 .  Subject that i will study  very  soon : CCNP security , Ethical hacking and cybersecurity , management of a project .

kind regards

2 REPLIES 2
Toshi_Esumi
SuperUser
SuperUser

If I were your prof. I would have specifically instructed my students not to seek any help from professional communities like this forum (I would call it "cheating" ;), but look for information (documentations, articles, etc.) available on the internet, then build up your own knowledge how to build a secure network. I don't think your prof. is expecting much before entering the pen.test subject in deep.