Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
mihirk
New Contributor

SSL Certificate Inspection: CA Signed Cert or Self-Signed Cert?

So I am trying to setup policies and of course almost all of them require SSL inspection enabled.

I did issue the cert from the domain controller which is self-signed and imported it to the firewall.

Of course it will throw an error saying that it is not a valid ssl cert unless I install that cert as Trusted Root on all PCs. If we get a cert from trusted CA then how would that work?

Would I be using any of the following information: Public IP: xx.xxx.xxx.xxx Domain Name: xyz.local (AD Domain) or xyz.com (A domain we own). Would SSL inspection still work if I get the CA signed cert for xyz.com domain?

I am pretty new to the SSL and certificates world so I have not much of an idea how things work.

6 REPLIES 6
mj75
New Contributor

Hello,

UP subject !!

I have a same problem.

An idea ?

emnoc
Esteemed Contributor III

1st no public CA is going to issue you a CA-root cert, that is not feasible nor a option to buy just a rootCA-cert

Your rootCA is that "your" root certificate, you just trust that in the OS or Firefox browser as a trusted rootCA and be done.

Ken Felix

PCNSE 

NSE 

StrongSwan  

PCNSE NSE StrongSwan
sw2090
Honored Contributor

yeah but they do issue sub-ca certs Ken. Those can be used to sign certificates. The dark side is that this creates one more hop in certificate verification path that has to be covered :\

-- 

"It is a mistake to think you can solve any major problems just with potatoes." - Douglas Adams

-- "It is a mistake to think you can solve any major problems just with potatoes." - Douglas Adams
emnoc
Esteemed Contributor III

So who do you think is  issuing subCA certificates for resigning ?