Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
graffle
New Contributor

Can't ping from Internal to SSL-VPN

Hi folks,

I'm a bit new to this, so hoping someone can help.  I have our SSL VPN set up and working decently well:  remote clients can access internal the (single) internal network resources, and also split tunnels through to external resources (e.g. AWS).  So that's working well.  The part I'm struggling with is getting the internal network to access VPN clients.  

I have a policy set up as such:

-----------------------------------

Incoming Interface:  internal

Outgoing Interface: SSL-VPN tunnel interface (ssl.root)

Source: all

Destination: VPN Range

Schedule: always

Service: All

Action: Allow

(This is in addition to the regular SSL-VPN -> internal/wan policies that are working as expected right now)

Internal IP Range: 10.0.1.0/24

VPN IP Range : 10.0.2.0/24

Ping from SSL VPN to Internal is fine (e.g. 10.0.2.123 -> 10.0.1.123)

Ping from Internal to SSL VPN times out (e.g. 10.0.1.123 -> 10.0.2.123)

When I ping from internal to the SSL VPN resource, I can see in FortiClient that the resource is receiving/sending data, and the firewall logs (Windows 10) also shows the ICMP allowed and received:

2019-11-10 11:21:48 ALLOW ICMP xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx 10.0.2.2 - - 0 - - - - 8 0 - RECEIVE

I'm at a bit of a loss, not sure how to proceed from here.  Any help would be really appreciated.

Best,

Graf

7 Solutions
Toshi_Esumi
Esteemed Contributor III

I would run sniffing (diag sniffer packet) on the FGT to see if the ping replies are actually coming back from the client. That would tell if it's on the client side or the FGT side.

View solution in original post

emnoc
Esteemed Contributor III

The tunnel adapter should always be a /32 , what does the routing show? What happens when you do a  {  diag sniffer packet ssl.root "icmp" } ?

Ken Felix

PCNSE 

NSE 

StrongSwan