Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
pchludil
New Contributor

Multiple Subnets on a Single External Interface

Hey everyone,

I have what I consider a little bit of an odd routing situation and I am not sure if the Fortigate's support it and how you do it. I haven't found it in the manual yet. I have personally never run into it before but I can't believe it is uncommon today.

So here is the situation:

[ul]
  • We currently run 200D Fortigates on 6.0.X.
  • At one of my locations I have a /29 on a WAN interface from our ISP.[ul]
  • I need to add additional IPs and we would like to do it by adding another /29. (I don't even know what you call this technically.) This amounts to supporting two subnets on the same external/WAN interface. This is something I have never done before but I am aware it can be done on other hardware.[/ul]
  • I saw some information for 4.x that appears to be relevant to internal routing but not from the outside in.[/ul]

Our options are Two /29s as described above or move to a new /28 and change everything that is on the existing /29. I would rather avoid moving to the /28 as it means outages and such. I don't see us needing more IPs for a while so another /29 would be more than sufficient.

Thanks in advance for any help you might be able to provide!

• 2 Solutions
    ede_pfau
    SuperUser
    SuperUser

hi,

and welcome to the forums.

I think you can solve this easily, by creating a secondary address a.b.c.d/29 on the WAN port. Your ISP will route this subnet to your primary WAN address so that routing is no issue.

There are subtle differences between primary and secondary addresses, mostly when it comes to services you offer on the WAN port.