Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
Takeshi89
New Contributor

Upgrade latest FortiOS is really a good solution?

Hello everyone, 

I'm a newbie/newcomer with Fortinet's products. 

Now I heard that upgrading to the latest version for FortiGate is not a recommendation. (from product supplier, not Fortinet)

Then, I'd like to find/check more details so what that really does mean.

I found that some points with Resolved/Known issues between the present and the newer version in Release Note

And I want to discuss detail here is related to some resolved CVEs' issues.

Here my discussing matter

・Currently using FortiOS version: 5.6.5

・I want to upgrade to version: 5.6.8

Although, I found that some CVEs (security related issues) that resolved on the 5.6.8 version of the Release Note.

But hold it on, when I reversely check on the CVE-2018-13371 (risk rather high) that written in Release Note of 5.6.8,

With the supported links: https://fortiguard.com/psirt/FG-IR-18-230

On the part [Affected products], I saw this "FortiOS version 5.6.7 and below"

so that means my FortiOS version is included either. And that made insecurity feeling now.

Therefore, I have some thoughts inside

[style="background-color: #ffffff;"]- If I upgrade to the latest version 5.6.8, it will be resolved the issue (but it's not a recommendation from the product supplier). I'm not much experience with Fortinet's products then it's not easy to make a decision.[/style]

[style="background-color: #ffffff;"]- If I do not, I do not know whether it will be a matter or not with the network system (the system run with Fortinet's product is about half of year without any notice/alert related to that security issue) [/style]

So, if someone who got this matter such as me, please help me to figure out or give me some advice on this matter!

Thank you for your help!

Best regards,

Takeshi

2 Solutions
Toshi_Esumi