Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
itsroland
New Contributor

Cannot Connect to Fortigate 200e Via Console Port

Apologies if this post is in the wrong location, this is my first time posting here. 

I've got a Fortigate 200e firewall that was handed off to me by the individual working on this project before me. While this firewall has not yet been installed in it's permanent home, this person made changes to the configuration for testing purposes and changed the address through which you connect to the webUI, but doesn't remember what he changed it to. Thus, I need to access the CLI through the console port so I can change these settings. 

I'm using an RJ45 to DB9 cable with a serial to USB adapter. I can confirm the issue is not with the cable I'm using, as I'm able to console in to a Cisco switch I also have via the same means. The software I'm using is PuTTY, and my settings are as follows:

Speed: 9600

Data Bits: 8

Stop Bits: 1

Parity: None

Flow Control: None

Once I open the connection, the login prompt never appears. I've tried hitting 'enter' multiple times to no success. All the information I can find online regarding connecting to this firewall via serial cable implies that I should be able to connect with my current settings, and I can't seem to find a solution. I've never worked with a Fortinet product specifically, so I wouldn't be surprised if I'm missing something obvious here, but otherwise I'm stumped. 

Any help is greatly appreciated. 

Thanks!

2 REPLIES 2
ede_pfau
Esteemed Contributor III

Your config for PuTTY is correct.

If the FGT is powered down, and you switch it on, you should see at least some BIOS messages. Even if there was no firmware on it.