Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
kieserite
New Contributor

Help Opening Ports For Carbonite Backup

Hi I am new to the Fortigate. We use Carbonite backup and recently had some firmware and other updates done by a different company. After the updates were done, all of our Carbonite backups stopped. The Carbonite folks said that the following ports needed to be opened:

[ul]
  • 25 (SMTP)
  • 53 (DNS)
  • 80 (HTTP)
  • 443 (HTTPS)[/ul]

Would someone be able to help walk me thru opening those ? I'm assuming that's what has changed, but open to any advice.

Thanks very much!

• 5 REPLIES 5
    lobstercreed
    Valued Contributor

Hi Mark,

Really need some more info to "walk you through it".  This is pretty basic firewall stuff though...

I'm going to guess that they mean those ports are necessary outbound, so you'd want to look at whatever rules should match traffic from your Carbonite server to the Internet, and make sure the listed services are part of that rule's definition.  The appropriate NAT needs to be done of course as well.

- Daniel

rwpatterson
    Valued Contributor III

Your best bet for that would be to get a list of destination IP addresses or subnets that Carbonite uses, and open those ports for all devices ONLY to the Carbonite hosts/subnets. This way any device you add to Carbonite backup would work without any further configuration inside the firewall. Carbonite support should (may) be able to give you that information.

Bob - self proclaimed posting junkie!
    See my Fortigate related scripts at: http://fortigate.camerabob.com

Bob - self proclaimed posting junkie!See my Fortigate related scripts at: http://fortigate.camerabob.com
    kieserite