Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
Kambien
New Contributor

Access between two interfaces, cannot ping subnet

Hi there,

Foremost, I am fairly new to networking as well as FortiGates.  Currently doing the NSE4 courses and the protection side is much simpler than the routing (as I am even more green to routing!).  Am struggling with figuring out how come I cannot access my wireless Asus router.  Have tried via ping (it is enabled on the firewall policy), tracert, web page access.  To give some lay out of my configuration:

Interface lan1 is WiFi (Interface 10.1.5.1, the router is 10.1.5.2)

Interface lan is my desktop (Interface 192.168.2.99, my PC is 192.168.2.112)

Created an IPv4 policy allowing the LAN interface to communicate with the WiFi interface.  I can ping the WiFi interface 10.1.5.1 and I see it is working because the bytes column in the policy shows as incrementing when I ping.

When I go to my desktop web browser and go to my Asus router console web page @ 192.168.1.1 I cannot reach it.  But I cannot ping it either.  I can go to 10.1.5.1 and reach the FortiGate's web login, which is appropriate for the current config and trial and erroring I am doing.

Some testing I have tried, I know some of this now wouldn't have worked (or doesn't):

[ul]
  • Created an IPv4 policy for WiFi to talk to my LAN.  This of course doesn't work.
  • Created a Policy Route for my desktop (LAN) to my WiFi (LAN1) and that didn't help anything.