Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
ddemland
New Contributor II

60D Change physical port back to hardware switch

I am new to Fortinet and I have a 60D. When I was starting my configuration I changed some ports to physical ports. I would like to remove one of these created physical ports and place it back in the internal hardware switch. I have all the reference removed so there is a 0 in the reference column, but I do not get the delete option enabled. How to I delete this physical interface so I can add this port back into the internal hardware switch?

7 REPLIES 7
ede_pfau
Esteemed Contributor III

You don't delete physical ports - they're physical.

If you want to use it in a hardware switch add the port to the switch - that's all. Depending on the FOS version you can do that in the GUI:

- open the switch interface

- click on an available (physical) port to add it as a member

Done.

In previous versions this was a bit more complicated, as you had to configure it in the CLI.

Ede

"Kernel panic: Aiee, killing interrupt handler!"
Ede"Kernel panic: Aiee, killing interrupt handler!"
ddemland
New Contributor II

OK, I am game. I have looked at everything and I cannot do this. I am using 5.2 on a 60d and I have tried to remove internal3 with the CLI and get a message that I cannot remove a static entry and I have tried to add internal3 to the "internal" switch and I get an message that I cannot use an assigned interface. How to I remove internal3 from physical to the "internal" switch?

Toshi_Esumi
Esteemed Contributor III

No, you don't need to "remove" internal3. But you need to remove all references using internal3, such as policies,  DHCP server, vlan subinterfaces, static routes, VIPs, and so on. Then you should be able to let it rejoin "internal" hard-switch interface.

ede_pfau
Esteemed Contributor III