Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
fittan
New Contributor

How to monitor attacks from the Internet?

Hi, totally newbie here. I came from Cisco background and just deployed my first 100E firewall. Great firewall and I am getting familiar with the firewall now. 

My only gripe is that I cannot find any way to monitor traffic on the "outside" interface. No real time logs and no reports either. Fortigate is excellent showing me all sorts of log from the "inside" (web, antivirus, ips, dns, etc). But as for events on the "outside", I am clueless (feels like I am driving blind). I have called Fortigate support several times and they are somewhat surprised about my request and later concurred that there is no such "functionality". 

Am I missing something here? Or is there really no way to monitor? Thanks in advance. 

16 REPLIES 16
fittan
New Contributor

Hi, replying to my own thread here since no one has responded. Can someone confirm that it is not possible to have a log of external attacks?

I have managed firewalls for many years and every other vendor from Cisco to Sonicwall provides log to have some visibility of external connections. I have tried to enable syslog on the Fortigate, but again it only shows "internal" logs, nothing on "external" traffic. 

Am I the only one who cares what is on the outside? Does't anyone want to have some visibility? It is a bit frustrating to say the least. 

fittan
New Contributor

68 views and no one can help? Can someone please answer:

1) Yes...you can view logs of traffic to your outside interface (i.e. external threat) or 

2) No...it cannot be done (and why would you want to do that). We are only concern with logging internal threats....external threats are not important.

tanr
Valued Contributor II

I'm not an expert at all, but a few questions, comments, and hopefully answers.