Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
DaveK
New Contributor

Setting up a Dual NAT

So let me preface that I'm not a Network guy... but I've been given the opportunity to dive in and learn with some stuff at home.  One of those items is a Fortigate 60E that I'm going to sort of build my home lab behind (generally by trade I'm a VMWare guy).     In the temporary, as this is on my primary home connection for the foreseeable future, I need to setup a double NAT type setup like the link below:   https://chasechristian.com/blog/2016/04/consoles-enterprise-firewalls-and-upnp/   Essentially because I have kids, etc, and need to start "working" and tune as I learn I want to put the 60E on my edge so it can scan traffic, etc, and do its edge job... but then let the inside be a bit more squishy like my traditional home router so their XBOX's, apps, etc, all work immediately... and I can tune the entire design as I become more proficient.   Can someone potentially point me on essentially creating the double NAT rule on the Fortigate 60E that passes all traffic to my router IP so I can get things working?     I'm anxious to learn as I've always been a fan of knowing end to end (always better for your job, and just good to know) and this is the first step for me on the Network side.   THANK YOU!

MOD:  You can close the thread in the ROUTING forum as its likely a better spot here.

5 REPLIES 5
ede_pfau
Esteemed Contributor III

hi,

and welcome to the forums!

You'll find plenty of fellows here just starting into the Fortinet world so no need to apologize (except maybe for using SRXes...). Your plan sounds interesting, and is easy as pie to set up.