Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
mile123
New Contributor

How to configure MGMT interface with an IP add of my LAN subnet (FG 200E)

Hi everyone here!

I am new with FG devices and I am currently working with FG 200E but I am facing a problem and I cannot find a solution for my case; I need to configure the mgmt interface with the IP x.x.x.x but I also need to configure a LAN interface with an IP add in the same subnet as the mgmt interface which seems to be a problem because I am getting this error:

Conflicts with 'mgmt' subnet

I was reading in previous post some solutions by using the ha configuration but in my case I am not using high availability, I just have to configure this single device. Is there any solution for this problem? 

Any answer is welcome, thanks so much for the help!

8 REPLIES 8
Markus
Valued Contributor

Hi,

Welcome to the Forums. You have to connect to the cli interface of the Fortigate (enable SSH on the Interface and use Putty or something similar). Use the following commands

config system settings

set allow-subnet-overlap enable This should do the trick.

________________________________________________________--- NSE 4 ---________________________________________________________
Toshi_Esumi
Esteemed Contributor III

Depending on how you want to use mgmt interface, but another option is to create a new vdom and move the interface from "root" to the new management vdom. That would isolate management network (I assume that's the reason you have an overlap) from all other user networks but still can manage the 200E through the interface.

mile123
New Contributor

Hi Markus,