Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
Ran_Dee
New Contributor

Accessing Share Drive and Other Resources

This post might be a little long, but I'm providing a brief back story (which might not necessarily be needed for everyone). Feel free to skip down. I'm still digging into networking more and more. I'm not necessarily a novice when it comes to networking, but I'm not an expert yet. I'm working on learning more and more. Thanks in advance.

Our facility was using some FortiGate appliances. I'm not sure which ones. They were white.  Those were managed by a third-party independent contractor. He used all of the EMS, firewall, etc.. (A special note: Our former company did not use MSPs. We had individual skilled techs at each of our three buildings. Some knew more than others.) The parent company decided to finally sell our building. When we were sold, they took the FortiGate and put us back on our Cisco ASA. The new MSP was not prepared to use that and decided to bring in a FortiGate 200B device. I explained that we needed VPN for select users. I also explained we needed LDAP auth for those users so we could just put them into the AD group and they could connect. After connecting, they would primarily need access to our share drive to review documents as needed. They really do not need anything else. Me, on the other hand, if I VPN in, I will need access to all of my servers and resources. I sometimes used the FortiClient app to connect and then used RD Client to get to my servers while I was out. Well, it's not working correctly...