Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
SecurityPlus
Contributor II

New To FortiSwitch

I'm completely new to the FortiSwitch. We manage FortiGates in the 50E to 100D range. We also manage some FAP's via the FortiGate units.

I like the concept concerning having the ability to manage the switch from the firewall interface. I also like the Cooperative Security Fabric features. Can someone give me some real world feedback concerning the FortiSwitch? Any advantages that I might easily overlook? Any disadvantages? Are there any particular models or firmware versions to seek out or to avoid? Any best practices concerning the FortiSwitch's?

Thanks!

9 REPLIES 9
MikePruett
Valued Contributor

FortiSwitches still have a decent ways to go in order to be "reliable" in enterprise style environments (from my experience at least).

SOHO or SMB deployments I have good luck with them. As long as you aren't stacking software switches in your FortiGate configuration to bond all the interfaces things seem to work fairly well. Otherwise, the smaller Gates start eating themselves with overhead (software switches nuke performance)

Mike Pruett Fortinet GURU | Fortinet Training Videos
SecurityPlus

Thanks Mike! You mentioned software switches. Is there another way other than using "software switches" to stack FortiSwitches? In other words is there an available hardware stack configuration available?

If we were to try to deploy a 24 or 48 port FortiSwitch using just one subnet / VLAN, would this overwhelm a 60 - 100 series Gate if the network utilization without the FortiSwitch (using instead a Cisco, Dell, or HP switch) allowed the Gate to have sufficient performance?

SecurityPlus

Bump

MikePruett

SecurityPlus wrote: