Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
tshaw
New Contributor

Authenticate Through Browser to Use Internet

Newbie here (sorry)!

I have searched through this site and could not find what I'm looking for, and hope you can help.

Background:

I have a FortiGate 1000D running firmware v5.2.11,build754 (GA) in a K-12 school district with 5,000 students with one-to-one devices.  I also have a VM with FortiAuthenticator.

Issue:

I would like to configure my FortiGate to the following.

When a user logs into their device and opens up a web browser they are presented a login screen.  Once they login and authenticate to my Active Directory, they are then allowed or denied access for a set time frame.

Thank you in advance for all your help!

Troy

5 REPLIES 5
gsarica
Contributor

Haven't used them yet myself but in theory a captive portal should work. You can configure the LAN interface to use a captive portal based on authentication off a group you create that's tied to your AD server. More info here:

http://help.fortinet.com/fos50hlp/52data/Content/FortiOS/fortigate-authentication-52/CaptivePortals....

As for the time schedule, you'd have to configure that in your actual policy.

tshaw
New Contributor

gsarica,

Thank you for the quick response, I will look into this.

rwpatterson
Valued Contributor III

Welcome to the forums.

The FSSO/FSAE software will authenticate the users behind the scenes without their manual intervention. If you enable NTLM authentication, the the browser window can pop up and allow the user to enter their credentials (I believe). IE automatically used NTLM (last time I checked many years back) and may not present the window either.

My two cents

Bob - self proclaimed posting junkie!
See my Fortigate related scripts at: http://fortigate.camerabob.com

Bob - self proclaimed posting junkie!See my Fortigate related scripts at: http://fortigate.camerabob.com
ede_pfau