Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
duong
New Contributor

Block facebook, youtube, skype and amazon

Hi all,

I am a Newbie, I using Foretigate 300D, I need block "facebook, youtube, skype, gmail and amazon" and just open some ip as required. Please help me!

Thanks!

2 Solutions
hmtay_FTNT
Staff
Staff

Hello duong,

You can do so with Application Control. Under Security Profiles, select a sensor that you are going to use in your policy. Add the signatures Facebook and all its children (Facebook_xxx), YouTube, Skype and Amazon and all their children into your policy. Set them to Block. 

Make sure that you set your policy to use that sensor and enable at least certificate-inspection. That should block the usage of those applications. 

HoMing

View solution in original post

hmtay_FTNT

Hello duong,

If you can contact your local support to help you, it will be the best solution since they can help you if some settings arent correct.

Otherwise, here are the rough steps:

1) Go to Policy & Objects-> Addresses. Create a new address group that includes all the IPs that you want to allow YouTube, Facebook, etc.

2) Create 2 policies in IPv4 Policy. The first one should contain the address group you created in 1) and have the signatures set to Allow. The second policy then has the signatures set to Block.

E.g.

edit 1         set name "wifi"         set uuid 361c7d7a-2413-51e6-0f0a-340c73277268         set srcintf "wifi"         set dstintf "wan2"         set srcaddr "allowedip"         set dstaddr "all"         set action accept         set schedule "always"         set service "ALL"         set utm-status enable         set logtraffic all         set application-list "default-allow"         set profile-protocol-options "default"         set ssl-ssh-profile "certificate-inspection"         set nat enable     next