Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
Okabe
New Contributor

Blocking external IP addresses

Dear All,

I'm new to Fortigate and new to the forum. Anyway, I have a problem configuring policies for blocking unwanted access from some external/malicious IP addresses.

Here's what I did.

config firewall policy
    edit 4
        set uuid 10be693f-5610-45a9-bebc-c27bd394177f
        set srcintf "any"
        set dstintf "any"
        set srcaddr "group-blacklist"
        set dstaddr "all"
        set schedule "always"
        set service "ALL"
        set logtraffic all
    next
end

I have put the policy on top of the list. However, when I tried accessing my FW from blocked IP address, it still can go through and no traffic were recorded to the policy log. Am I missing any steps or is there any other way? Thank you guys.

Fortigate 60D

v5.2.6,build711 (GA)

1 Solution
ede_pfau

This is not about VIPs but administrative access to the FGT, right?

You can do 2 different things:

1- only allow certain public IPs to access the FGT (white listing) - go to System>Admin>myadmin>TrustedHosts

2- create a local-in policy which uses a predefined custom address group as source address(es). Local-in policies are only managed in the CLI.

Ede

"Kernel panic: Aiee, killing interrupt handler!"

View solution in original post

Ede"Kernel panic: Aiee, killing interrupt handler!"
11 REPLIES 11
Nils
Contributor II

You need to do the "set action deny".

And try to specify the source and destination-interface, that's best practice.

Okabe
New Contributor

I did set the action to deny. In my case, I want to block external IP addresses from accessing my WAN interface. How do I set the source interface and destination interface? Is there an access control list to do that or am I missing anything? Thanks.

Ian_Harrison
New Contributor

Hi