Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
jacob_mmchan
New Contributor

SSL VPN clients to be connected by RDP

Hello Dears,

Is there a way that a VPN users (connected as SSL VPN tunnel mode) to be connected by RDP? (a reverse-access that we perform generally)

I have tried below setting on a Fortigate with version 5.6 series but it still treats the connection is going to internet (wan interface) under FortiView.

1) Add a static route of VPN assigned prefixes to ssl interface

2) Create a new policy from source interface "internal" to destination interface "ssl" with NAT disabled, with putting it to the 1st order under the policy sequence

Thanks,

Jacob

4 REPLIES 4
ITadm
New Contributor II

First of all- is RDP connection enabled on clients computers? Can they ping each other (and is pinging enabled on local firewalls?).

I'm not an expert, but I'm not sure about this static route. Can you track on Fortiview these packets (source and destination interface?). 

I'd suggest you to start with pinging first.

Prab
New Contributor

jacob.mmchan wrote:

Hello Dears,

Is there a way that a VPN users (connected as SSL VPN tunnel mode) to be connected by RDP? (a reverse-access that we perform generally)

I have tried below setting on a Fortigate with version 5.6 series but it still treats the connection is going to internet (wan interface) under FortiView.

1) Add a static route of VPN assigned prefixes to ssl interface

2) Create a new policy from source interface "internal" to destination interface "ssl" with NAT disabled, with putting it to the 1st order under the policy sequence

Thanks,

Jacob

If I understand correctly, you would like to connect to the SSL VPN client machines using RDP from a local network behind the FGT?

Yes, that can be done in the SSL Tunnel mode. I tested it in my lab on 5.6.3 FortiOS.

There are no special requirements for this at least on the FGT.