Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
NeoRant
New Contributor III

Fortimail FML-VM01 in is Broken - REISERFS Error - lost all config, vm goes into to maintenance mode

This is my first time using Fortimail and I have to admit, this system has a lot of bugs/issues, a bit unstable. The VM/webadmin tends to freeze at times. I once lost an entire configuration, where the vm was reset thus losing its 1 yr license/expired, I had to turn on udp to reapply 1yr license to get the VM up. Now the VM upon starting in Hyper-V is broken. I need to replicate this Fortimail VM for redundancy, but I will not replicate a broken VM. Additionally, there are other VMs on the same host comprising Fortimail and they are working fine i.e. checkpoint creation/removals, replication etc can be done.

Can i get some assistance?

1 Solution
AEK

Honestly I'm not sure about that. I usually open a CS ticket to move the license and it always worked fine like that.

However in ma late experience I had one FWB VM with a temporary license, and I could move it without opening a CS ticket, just by shutting down the old VM and pushing the license file to the new VM it worked fine.

So I'm not sure about how it is supposed to work. I think it would be a good idea to create a new post for this question.

AEK

View solution in original post

AEK
7 REPLIES 7
AEK
SuperUser
SuperUser

Hi @NeoRant 

Which FortiMail version are you using?

A REISERFS error is usually a filesystem corruption. Can be caused by physical disk error, power outage, ungraceful shutdown of the VM or by other external factor.

Usually in such case restoring the VM from a good VM backup is the best and fastest solution.

AEK
AEK
NeoRant
New Contributor III