Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
Rn34
New Contributor

Fortigate DNS Master to Slave database?

I can't find anything on this by searching, but is it possible for another Fortigate to pull down DNS records from a master DNS database on another Fortigate?

Basically I have a 300c running a master DNS database (this works fine, resolves as intended) at my main location. I want my Fortigates (80d, but varies) at secondary locations to pull down these records so that I don't have to enter them all manually at 20+ sites.

On my 80d I created a new DNS database, set it to 'slave', view 'shadow', the same dns zone as my master, the same domain name, gave it the IP of my 300c master, authoritative to 'disable'. The number of entries never populates and I can't find a CLI command to try and 'download' them, nor does a lookup ever resolve this way. However, if I change the system DNS, or change the DNS handed out to DHCP clients, to my master it will resolve fine. So DNS is working, I just don't want to have 300 pc's pinging back to 1 device for every single DNS lookup.

On my 300c master I set type to 'master', view to 'shadow', hostname the hostname of the devices, authoritative 'enabled' (tried disabled, didn't matter).

If this doesn't work I'll go about it another way. There is no AD or other authentication currently, hence why the attempts to use the Fortigate in the meantime.

3 REPLIES 3
emnoc
Esteemed Contributor III

I think your slave might be looking up the "zone" by dns to find the master and attempting the zone-xfer. Is your zone internal zone only ( I'm assuming yes since you stated shadow)

What's your " set domain xxxxx set as? is the set defined ip-master ipv4 address correct?

Is the interfaces correct ?

What happen when you issues a  diag test application dnsproxy 9 or a diag test application dnsproxy 8