Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
dsykora
New Contributor II

FortiClient 6.0.3.0155 blocks some youtube videos by default

Hello,

I am new to FortiClient and am using it for Anti Virus on a few Win 7 Pro computers.  When some youtube videos are attempted (i.e. [link]https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=A6DqPBJNkvk[/link] ), I get an error message in the viewer "Video unavailable This video is restricted.  Try signing in with a Google Apps account."  If Forticlient is shutdown, the video works.  If Forticlient is restarted, the video fails again.  I do not see any indication that the site is blocked in Forticlient (no notifications, 0 Sites Blocked).  I tried adding an exclusion *.youtube.com  but that didn't help either.  I cleared the Forticlient log, tried to open video, and then exported the log.  However, I do not see any blocking.  I can add the log file if that is useful to anyone.  

Any suggestions to troubleshoot this issue are appreciated.

Thanks,

Dale Sykora

2 Solutions
dsykora
New Contributor II

The problem went away when we downgraded to Forticlient 6.0.2 

View solution in original post

tsypyshev_pi

So, the cause of this problem is a safe search feature enabled by default. I've found solution to disable it. You need unlock settings and go to Settings -> System section -> Backup. Specify backup file and click Ok. Then open XML file in any text editor and find <safe_search> section. Change values from 1 to 0 for <enabled> variables.

<safe_search>
  <enabled>0</enabled>
  <search_engines>
     <enabled>0</enabled>
After that save file and restore configuration from this file. I think this feature is presented in EMS GUI, but absent int FC GUI.

View solution in original post

14 REPLIES 14
eastcoastmatt

Has anyone else observed that after a shutdown and restart of the FortiClient, the safe_search flag gets re-enabled.