Support Forum
The Forums are a place to find answers on a range of Fortinet products from peers and product experts.
nethori
New Contributor

FG-100F in HA without using switches

Hi everyone,
I'm relatively new to networking and eager to learn.I would appreciate your input regarding a technical solution. Specifically, in the following architecture, I aim to facilitate communication between zones using two firewalls configured in High Availability (HA) active-passive mode. The challenge lies in achieving complete redundancy without employing intermediate switches between servers and firewalls.

image.png

In the scenario where, for instance, FG1 is the active firewall and the connection between SRV1 and FG1 drops for a specific reason, I'm unsure how to achieve full redundancy without using intermediate switches. In such cases, the only solution seems to be manually forcing an HA failover.

I'm thinking about using HA active-active, but I haven't used FortiGate devices in this mode before, and I'm uncertain if it's the optimal solution. I understand that having a pair of switches between servers and firewalls is preferable, but due to space and cost constraints, I'm considering this approach as a last resort.

I would greatly appreciate any insights or recommendations from the community on this matter. Thank you for your support.

1 Solution
AEK
SuperUser
SuperUser

Hi Nethori

I've never thought of such design but I think there might be some useful ideas.

• I think A-P HA would be more adapted. Could't imagine how can do that with A-A HA
  • From server side you will have to find a suitable IP Multi-Pathing mechanism that work best in such situation. I think about something like old unix A-P L3 based IPMP
  • L2 based IPMP may not work here since the passive FG's interfaces still L2-up
  • Nowadays I guess there should be many IP multipathing mechanisms to choose from